Expanded Universe

The Star Wars expanded universe (also known as the EU), encompasses all of the officially licensed, fictional material of the Star Wars Saga, outside of the six feature films, The Clone Wars film and series, and Rebels series produced by Lucasfilm. The expanded universe includes books, comic books, video games, toys, and other assorted media. On 25 April 2014, following the acquisition of Lucasfilm by The Walt Disney Company in late 2012, it was announced that all previously released Expanded Universe content would no longer be considered canon, and would be rebranded as Star Wars Legends. A new company division, Lucasfilm Story Group, will ensure from now on that all new comics, books, games, and other media are non-contradictory to each other and previous works, and valid to the story being told in the films. Given they are part of the same story, however, content and characters from the Legends works may reappear in the new “storytelling approach”. The films of Star Wars sequel trilogy will not tell the same story as the Expanded Universe works taking place after the events of Return of the Jedi hence rendering these works as non-canon, which has been the subject of a lot of controversy and fan boycotts.